To work as a registered Nurse or Midwife in Australia you must be registered with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia, and must meet their registration standards. The Nursing and Midwifery Board outlines the registration process, standards, codes and guidelines based on the national law under supervision of the Australian Health Practitioner regulation agency (AHPRA).
Nurses & Midwives Registration in Australia

The Nursing and Midwifery board recognises four types of registration. These include:

  1. General registration
  2. Limited registration
  3. Non-practicing registration
  4. Student registration

You can find all the information you need on the role and functions of the board, application forms and how to apply, why you need to be registered, costs and renewal dates on the Nurses and Midwives Board of Australia website.


The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA)


The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) is responsible for supporting the national boards, and is governed by the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, that recognises 14 different medical professions including the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. These 14 boards are responsible for regulating each of their respected professions. These respected boards set standards and policies that must be met by all healthcare professionals including the registration and renewal process. For more information on AHPRA please refer to their website. you can also contact them over the phone or through the mail.